Hitting walls and fighting back

29 02 2012

This last week has not been my friend.  I did a diet and workout change and got my ass whooped, so I’ll be changing back to how I started and working on motivationals.

Last week I decided to concentrate on my cardio, tummy and ass. I changed my diet to no carb, med protein and MLP protein shakes eating plan.  What I learnt is that nutrition is so important for having the energy to workout and that cardio does not burn fat quite like we think it does. Also, all the treadmill work put some major stress on my knee.  So from today I changing back with my good carbs ie my magic fat burning soup full of green veggies, and hitting the weights again.  Daily weight training with med weights and high repetitions burns calaories… let me repeat my self and make sure you hear…

WEIGHT TRAINING BURNS FAT & YOU NEED CARBS!!!

I also had the disappointment of not registering in time for the NIKE night run I was raving about and have been gutted about letting my 5 followers down, but I have also realised that I need time to prepare for a race like that and I need to loose a lot more weight to be able to run, my knees just are not ready.  I will run, I will enter many races, but just not too soon.

I have also started watching youtube vids of Jillian Michaels, and while often I think she may be too OTT, she has the right attitude.  FAT = DEATH. Being obese is abuse on your body, and it’s killing yourself slowly.  I choose to live, and live to my fullest potential, that’s why I have chosen to loose weight, get strong and get active.

So hitting gym in an hour, going to keep on pumping weights, doing some cardio on the orbitrek (cross trainer) and work on the tums and bums in between.  Starting a new week, and a new month with renewed vigor, renewed commitment, renewed desire and I will bring you more results, thrills and laughs.

Here’s a cool recipe I found on jillianmichaels.com, today is payday and I’m going treat myself with this for dinner.

Live Strong, Live Healthy, Keep the Faith

Lizz

Not Your Everyday Chicken Dinner

If you’re tired of the same old chicken and veggies dish, it might be time to shake things up and introduce your taste buds to a new experience. Dal is a dish that is traditionally made from lentils, but this chicken and tomatoes version is a superstar in its own right. The best part? It calls for organic rotisserie chicken — perfect for when you need a quick, easy, and healthy answer to dinner.

Roasted Chicken Dal

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 teaspoons canola oil
  • 1 small onion, minced
  • 2 teaspoons curry powder
  • 2 cups cooked lentils (rinsed)
  • 14 ounces organic diced tomatoes, preferably fire-roasted
  • 2 pounds organic precooked rotisserie chicken breast, bone and skin discarded, diced
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt, or to taste
  • 1/4 cup organic plain low-fat yogurt

Preparation

Heat oil in a large heavy saucepan over medium-high heat. Add onion and cook, stirring, until softened but not browned, 3 to 4 minutes.

Add curry powder and cook, stirring, until combined with the onion and intensely aromatic, 20 to 30 seconds.

Stir in lentils, tomatoes, chicken and salt and cook, stirring often, until heated through.

Remove from the heat and stir in yogurt. Serve immediately.

Makes 4 servings.

Prep Time: 10 mins
Cook Time: 10 mins
Total Time: 20 mins

Nutrition Facts
Number of Servings: 4
Amount Per Serving
Calories: 345
Total Fat: 9 g
Saturated Fat: 2 g
Cholesterol: 78 mg
Sodium: 361 mg
Total Carbohydrate: 30 g
Dietary Fiber: 10 g
Protein: 36 g

Actions

Information

4 responses

29 02 2012
Fabulous Mommy

Well done L, you are doing well. Keep up the good work.

2 03 2012
jackie

You cant cut out carbs completely-the body freaks out. ive learned that the good carbs are your best friend. Try sweet potatoes, they are so yummy and really makes and keeps you full for a long time. Ive heard from a friend who trains that Carbs actually helps your brain function. Not too sure how it works but what it basically boils down to-no carbs, you get too tired (physically and emotionally) to do work outs. Stick with what you know and a few weeks down the lane switch it a little so you dont get used to it. Also if you hit a week where the weight simply wont budge-try cutting carbs only after 4pm. So still do the normal diet plan but no carbs after 4-your body will re adjust and you will start losing again slowly. Remember-even the weeks where you dont lose-you didnt pick up either-and thats a sustained change for a healthy life.

14 03 2012
changingmeforlife

too right

4 10 2015
weight loss

Hello I am so thrilled I found your site, I really found you by accident,
while I was researching on Askjeeve for something else, Anyways I am here
now and would just like to say thanks for a incredible post and a all
round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time
to look over it all at the moment but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I
have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up
the excellent work.

Leave a Reply

RHF INDIA

The Complete Human Body

2Summers

An American in Quirky Johannesburg

the amandzing way

growing up and out

Lead Jammer Magazine

The UK Roller Derby Magazine

